Library Guides: Executive MBA in Dubai: Finance and financial markets information

Finance and Financial Markets Information

Most resources use your usual City IT username and password. See 'FAQ - How do I log in?' for further details. Some resources need different login details or you need to register for an account: these are listed in Business Library Moodle 2023-2024 .

Mergent Online
Company financials, stock prices, descriptions, history, property, subsidiaries officers and directors, long - term debt and capital stock.
Accessibility information for Mergent Online
User Guide available in Business Library Moodle 2023-2024. Non-Business School students and staff should email businesslibrary@city.ac.uk.
CB Insights
Is a global private company database that covers daily real-time information about venture capital, angel investor-backed private start-ups. It also contains M&A and IPO news, private equity and industry analysis. Please note that there is a limit of 4000 profile views and 4000 downloads per user per year.

Limitation - Students and staff should email the Business Library to request instructions for creating an account. Your City email address is only used for log-in, CB Information Services do not use this information for any other purpose.
Expert Intelligence reports are not available as part of our subscription.
Accessibility information for CB insights

Banking Resources

S&P Capital IQ Pro
S&P Capital IQ Pro provides detailed and standardised financial data on financial institutions in the US, Europe and MEA.
Limitation Does not work with Firefox broswer.
Accessibility information for S&P Capital IQ Pro

You have to be connected to the university network to register for and access this database. Business School students should register for an account via Business Library Moodle 2023-2024 module. Non-Business School students and staff should email businesslibrary@city.ac.uk for registration details.

Mergers and Acquisitions

CB Insights
Is a global private company database that covers daily real-time information about venture capital, angel investor-backed private start-ups. It also contains M&A and IPO news, private equity and industry analysis. Please note that there is a limit of 4000 profile views and 4000 downloads per user per year.

Limitation - Students and staff should email the Business Library to request instructions for creating an account. Your City email address is only used for log-in, CB Information Services do not use this information for any other purpose.
Expert Intelligence reports are not available as part of our subscription.
Accessibility information for CB insights
SDC Mergers and Acquisitions
WRDS dataset listed under Thomson/Refinitiv. Contains information on M&A deals, advisors and events.
Accessibility information for SDC Mergers and Acquisitions
To access WRDS datasets, click 'Register' on the WRDS homepage. Register using your City email address. Under 'Affiliation Type', postgraduate and undergraduate students should select 'Masters/Undergrad'.

You will receive an email within two working days asking you to agree to the Terms & Conditions. Once you have replied, your account will be approved and when you login to WRDS, you will have to sign up to their 2 Factor Authentication system.

 

As part of the registration process, Duo collects WRDS usernames, phone numbers, and email addresses in order to verify information during login.  Duo (owned by Cisco) retains anonymized information post login for statistical and performance purposes. Duo privacy policies can be found here. 
SDC New Issues
WRDS dataset listed under Thomson/Refinitiv. Contains information on new issues.
Accessibility information for SDC New issues
To access WRDS datasets, click 'Register' on the WRDS homepage. Register using your City email address. Under 'Affiliation Type', postgraduate and undergraduate students should select 'Masters/Undergrad'.

You will receive an email within two working days asking you to agree to the Terms & Conditions. Once you have replied, your account will be approved and when you login to WRDS, you will have to sign up to their 2 Factor Authentication system.

 As part of the registration process, Duo collects WRDS usernames, phone numbers, and email addresses in order to verify information during login.  Duo (owned by Cisco) retains anonymized information post login for statistical and performance purposes. Duo privacy policies can be found here.

WRDS Datasets

WRDS
Wharton Research Data Services is a business data research service which allows researchers to search a range of research datasets to which we currently subscribe using a common interface. These resources are available to staff, postgraduates and undergraduates.
Accessibility information for WRDS
To access WRDS datasets, click 'Register' on the WRDS homepage. Register using your City email address. Under 'User type', postgraduate and undergraduate students should select 'Masters/Undergrad.'

You will receive an email within two working days asking you to agree to the Terms & Conditions. Once you have replied, your account will be approved and when you login to WRDS, you will have to sign up to their 2 Factor Authentication system.

 As part of the registration process, Duo collects WRDS usernames, phone numbers, and email addresses in order to verify information during login.  Duo (owned by Cisco) retains anonymized information post login for statistical and performance purposes. Duo privacy policies can be found here. 
Capital IQ
WRDS dataset listed under Compustat. Provides extensive debt capital structure for over 60,000 global public and private companies and equity capital structure data on over 80,000 active and inactive companies worldwide.
Accessibility information for Capital IQ
To access WRDS datasets, click 'Register' on the WRDS homepage. Register using your City email address. Under 'Affiliation Type', postgraduate and undergraduate students should select 'Masters/Undergrad'.

You will receive an email within two working days asking you to agree to the Terms & Conditions. Once you have replied, your account will be approved and when you login to WRDS, you will have to sign up to their 2 Factor Authentication system.

 As part of the registration process, Duo collects WRDS usernames, phone numbers, and email addresses in order to verify information during login.  Duo (owned by Cisco) retains anonymized information post login for statistical and performance purposes. Duo privacy policies can be found here. 
CRSP
WRDS Dataset. Comprehensive collection of security price, return, and volume data for the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ. Additional CRSP files provide stock indices, beta- and cap-based portfolios, treasury bond and risk-free rates, mutual funds and real estate data.
Accessibility information for CRSP
To access WRDS datasets, click 'Register' on the WRDS homepage. Register using your City email address. Under 'Affiliation Type', postgraduate and undergraduate students should select 'Masters/Undergrad.'

You will receive an email within two working days asking you to agree to the Terms & Conditions. Once you have replied, your account will be approved and when you login to WRDS, you will have to sign up to their 2 Factor Authentication system.

 As part of the registration process, Duo collects WRDS usernames, phone numbers, and email addresses in order to verify information during login.  Duo (owned by Cisco) retains anonymized information post login for statistical and performance purposes. Duo privacy policies can be found here. 
Factset Ownership
WRDS dataset. Global institutional, mutual fund, stakeholder, and float-related share ownership information covering equity positions held in 120 countries by over 30,000 institutions, 40,000 mutual funds, and 400,000 insiders and stakeholders. Use Factset to investigate share ownership from company and holder perspective, analyze ownership data or examine historical share movements.
Accessibility information for Factset Ownwership
To access WRDS datasets, click 'Register' on the WRDS homepage. Register using your City email address. Under 'Affiliation Type', postgraduate and undergraduate students should select 'Masters/Undergrad'.

You will receive an email within two working days asking you to agree to the Terms & Conditions. Once you have replied, your account will be approved and when you login to WRDS, you will have to sign up to their 2 Factor Authentication system.

As part of the registration process, Duo collects WRDS usernames, phone numbers, and email addresses in order to verify information during login.  Duo (owned by Cisco) retains anonymized information post login for statistical and performance purposes. Duo privacy policies can be found here. 
IBES
Summary and individual analyst forecasts of company earnings, cash flows, and other important financial items, as well as buy-sell-hold recommendations. Available via the Datastream Excel Add-in via Eikon.
Accessibility information for IBES
Available on 5 bookable PCs in the Financial Resources Zone, Business Library and on 8 bookable PCs in the Refinitiv Trading Room (Business School). A limited number of Eikon usernames are available for off-site access. These will be issued on a first come, first served basis (Monday to Friday) and will expire at 08:00 UK time the following day or 08:00 Monday, if issued on Friday. For access and further details please email businesslibrary@city.ac.uk
NASTRAQ
WRDS dataset. Displays trades and quotes for securities listed on NASDAQ. The database provides trade data, inside quote data, and dealer quote data according to symbol and date range. Please note, this dataset is no longer supported by WRDS and is to be used for historical purposes only.
Accessibility information for NASTRAQ
To access WRDS datasets, click 'Register' on the WRDS homepage. Register using your City email address. Under 'Affiliation Type', postgraduate and undergraduate students should select 'Masters/Undergrad'.

You will receive an email within two working days asking you to agree to the Terms & Conditions. Once you have replied, your account will be approved and when you login to WRDS, you will have to sign up to their 2 Factor Authentication system.

 As part of the registration process, Duo collects WRDS usernames, phone numbers, and email addresses in order to verify information during login.  Duo (owned by Cisco) retains anonymized information post login for statistical and performance purposes. Duo privacy policies can be found here.
Compustat
WRDS dataset. Company fundamental and market information on active and inactive publicly held companies, in North American and Global datasets. Normalized to provide comparability across a variety of global accounting standards and practices.
Accessibility information for Compustat
To access WRDS datasets, click 'Register' on the WRDS homepage. Register using your City email address. Under 'Affiliation Type', postgraduate and undergraduate students should select 'Masters/Undergrad'.

You will receive an email within two working days asking you to agree to the Terms & Conditions. Once you have replied, your account will be approved and when you login to WRDS, you will have to sign up to their 2 Factor Authentication system.

As part of the registration process, Duo collects WRDS usernames, phone numbers, and email addresses in order to verify information during login.  Duo (owned by Cisco) retains anonymized information post login for statistical and performance purposes. Duo privacy policies can be found here. 
Audit Analytics: Audit and Compliance
WRDS dataset listed under Audit Analytics. Audit Analytics: Audit and Compliance provides detailed research on over 150,000 active audits and more than 10,000 accounting firms. Includes detailed categorisations of issues to enable tracking and analysis of public company disclosures.
Accessibility information for Audit Analytics: Audit and Compliance
To access WRDS datasets, click 'Register' on the WRDS homepage. Register using your City email address. Under 'Affiliation Type', postgraduate and undergraduate students should select 'Masters/Undergrad'.

You will receive an email within two working days asking you to agree to the Terms & Conditions. Once you have replied, your account will be approved and when you login to WRDS, you will have to sign up to their 2 Factor Authentication system.

 As part of the registration process, Duo collects WRDS usernames, phone numbers, and email addresses in order to verify information during login.  Duo (owned by Cisco) retains anonymized information post login for statistical and performance purposes. Duo privacy policies can be found here.

Economic Data

Euromonitor Passport
This online market research tool monitors industry trends and provides strategic analysis, market size and market share data across key countries and industries. It also includes demographic and economic data and packaging information.
Accessibility information for Euromonitor Passport
Business School students should register for an account via Business Library Moodle 2023-2024. Non-Business School students and staff should email businesslibrary@city.ac.uk for registration instructions. User guide. Video tutorial.
Statista
Statista provides access to recent and relevant statistics & studies on a specific topic. It combines statistical data on international industries from different sources including market researchers, trade organizations, scientific journals, and government databases.
Accessibility information for Statista
Statista aggregates statistical data on over 600 international industries and from more than 18,000 sources.
UK Data Archive
The UK Data Archive is curator of the largest collection of digital data in the social sciences and humanities in the United Kingdom. With several thousand datasets relating to society, both historical and contemporary, our Archive is a vital resource for researchers, teachers and learners.
Accessibility information for UK Data Archive
The first time you login you will be required to complete a short registration form.

United Nations Statistics
UN statistics covering major demographic, economic and other statistics collected for countries all over the world.
Office for National Statistics
UK government statistics.