A case study is an in-depth study of a specific subject. Subjects may be a particular person, group, place, event, organisation, or phenomenon.
Case studies are often used in social, educational, clinical, or business research contents. They may investigate trends or patterns of behaviour or practices.
Case studies provide unique insight into a brand or a strategy in a way that is not usually reported. They range across industries and countries, and can be particularly useful for students looking into subjects such as strategy or HR practices. City library provides four main databases for case studies.
Peer-reviewed journals, case studies, WARC briefings, best practice guides on marketing strategy and implementation, research papers, media and advertising data, and market context analysis.
Accessibility statement for WARC
Also includes Market Leader, the Journal of Advertising Research, International Journal of Advertising & the International Journal of Market Research.
© and database right Warc Limited and/or its licensors 2024. All warranties and liabilities disclaimed to the fullest extent permitted by law.
User Guides available in Business Library Moodle 2024-2025. For access to the user guides, non-Business School students and staff should email businesslibrary@city.ac.uk.
Contains over 3000 business cases covering a wide range of topics, industries, and geographies.
Accessibility statement for Sage Business Cases
Instructors can access extra teaching materials – contact your Subject Librarian to arrange access.
International market research. Offers a comprehensive mix of company, industry, country and financial data for every major marketplace in the world.
Accessibility statement for MarketLine Advantage
Journal articles, case studies, company profiles, industry reports, SWOT analyses. Covers business and economics, with full text access to the Harvard Business Review.
Accessibility statement for British Source Ultimate
In addition to academic research, Business Source Ultimate also provides access to case studies. To access them, type your search term(s) into the search fields at the top and then scroll down to Search Options and select Case Study under Publication Type.