Skip to main content

Library Services

  1. Library Services Home
  2. Resources
  3. Support
  4. About
  5. My Library

Market research

 

About Market Research

Market Research is used to help companies:

  • Understand how to target a particular demographic and which strategy to adopt 
  • Become more competitive against peers
  • Form commercial decisions about brand positioning.

For students, it can be used to:

  • Support essays, dissertations and projects
  • Create mock business plans as well as to prepare for interviews 
  • Increase employability.

Information gathered from City Library databases must not be used for commercial purposes, including for university placements. 

Market Research databases are unique among databases because they generate the content themselves. Rather than collecting it from other sources and presenting it in their own platform, market research firms create their own research on consumers and markets. They use the data to produce reports with raw data and statistics and employ analysts to provide expert commentary and analysis on current trends. 

Consumer demographics, behaviours and trends

These databases focus on the consumer side of the market. They provide data and analysis on demographics, trends among consumers, brands and markets.

Mintel is a leading name in Market Research. We provide reports published in the last two years for leading UK industries including:

  • Technology
  • Media
  • Household Care
  • Health and Wellbeing
  • Food and Drink
  • Beauty and Personal Care
  • Automotive

Euromonitor Passport combines economic information with demographics to provide detailed picture and analysis of consumers around in major countries around the world. To find it select Consumers from the toolbar and refine down to one of the consumer homepages. From there you can find briefings, country reports, opinions and podcasts.

Industry Research

Industry Research focuses on the supply side of an industry, including:

  • Supply chain analysis
  • Broad economic, political and environmental factors affecting all companies
  • How these factors are addressed.

 

Search Marketline for an industry or use the browsing options. Marketline provides many different types of reports including company, industry, case studies and geographies. You can use the options on the right to refine your results by country or to specify a sub-category of your industry.


 

IBISWorld provides industry research on all industries identified by Standard industrial classification of economic activities (SIC) and North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) for the UK, US, China and globally. Search for your industry or use the classification identifiers to browse.


Euromonitor provides charting and analysis for products and services in major economies around the world.

Use the Country Reports: Datagraphics tool available from the homepage to find charting options for your industry. Alternatively, you can quickly access statistics using the Search statistics tool or browse the different reports available on an industry from the Industries tab.


 

Business Source Complete is primarily used for academic research, but it also has industry profiles. To find them you can either:

  • Use the basic keyword search to find industry reports on a topic

OR

  • Enter the industry code under NAICS/Industry Code.

To limit your search to industry profiles, then

  • Scroll down to Search Options
  • Find Publication Type 
  • Select Industry Profile. 

Market Research from CB Insights is widely used to analyse markets around the world. It's an excellent resource for insights and analysis about trends in cutting edge industries including Fintech, Artificial Intelligence, Internet of Things, Blockchain and much more. 

While Bloomberg is primarily a resource to be used for finance and company research, it has some use when researching industries.

SPLC < GO > (Supply chain analysis) will show you the supply chain and competitors for a given business according to various metrics, including sales ad revenue.

BI < GO > (Bloomberg Intelligence) provides quick overviews of concepts and issues in business.