Your Subject Librarians
Undergraduates
Postgraduates
Business Library Online Resources: Finding Articles and Academic Research (video)
Support for dissertations and projects - books
You can find useful books for business research in the carousel below.
Academic resources for Business
Search these databases for articles on your topic. When you get your results, use the filter marked 'Academic', 'Scholarly', or 'Peer-reviewed' to find academic journal articles only.
- ProQuest One Business
Peer-reviewed journal articles, dissertations, conference proceedings, working papers, trade publications, industry reports, and key periodicals including the Wall Street Journal.
Accessibility statement for ProQuest One Business - Business Source Ultimate
Journal articles, case studies, company profiles, industry reports, SWOT analyses. Covers business and economics, with full text access to the Harvard Business Review.
Accessibility statement for British Source Ultimate - ScienceDirect
Full-text database containing journal articles and book chapters from thousands of journals and ebooks. The majority of content is published by Elsevier.
Accessibility statement for ScienceDirect - Web of Science
Multidisciplinary resource which enables simultaneous cross-searching of a range of citation indexes and databases. It provides access to research tools like cited reference searching and the Journal Citation Reports.
Accessibility statement for Web of Science - SCOPUS
The largest abstract and citation database of international peer-reviewed literature: journals, books and conference proceedings. It also has smart tools to track, analyse and visualise research.
Accessibility statement for SCOPUS - Emerald Insight
Abstracts and full text access to books and journals published by Emerald. Content covers accounting, management, education, engineering and information science.
Accessibility statement for Emerald Insight - WARC
Peer-reviewed journals, case studies, WARC briefings, best practice guides on marketing strategy and implementation, research papers, media and advertising data, and market context analysis.
Accessibility statement for WARC - Greenleaf Online Library (GOL)
Collection of books and journals in the fields of sustainability, business ethics, responsible management and accountability.
Accessibility statement for Greenleaf Online Library
Journals, articles and research for Business
This guide will help you find the following types of material:
- Journals: an academic or scholarly journal where researchers publish peer-reviewed articles. They can be general or cover niche subjects. New issues come out several times a year.
- Journal Articles: peer-reviewed articles appear in academic journals, and cover recent research from academics around the world. Your lecturers want you to use this type of article in literature reviews and other academic writing.
- Working Papers: working versions of journal articles, before peer-review, are released on websites like SSRN so that other academics can comment on them before they are published.
- Trade publications: specialist magazines aimed at working professionals rather than academics. Articles are often written by journalists and practitioners, and cover news and practical information, with industry-specific advertising.
- Grey Literature: many institutions release research and other documents that are not published in academic journals, but that are reliable and/or useful resources. For instance, a report published by a government department, a charity or the NHS would be grey literature.
SAGE Research Methods
SAGE Research Methods online provides information on research methods in social sciences. It includes research methods e-books and is designed to address questions that arise during the various steps of the research process.
- Sage Campus
Collection of 34 self-paced courses covering critical skills and research methods that can be applied across all stages of academic study.
Accessibility statement for Sage Campus - Sage Research Methods online
Several hundred research methods, e-books, videos and case studies. Provides information on research methods in health and social sciences. Designed to answer methods questions at each stage of the research process.
Accessibility statement for Sage Research Methods Online - Sage Research Methods Cases
Collection of case studies of real social research that can be used in teaching. Cases are designed to help students understand often abstract methodological concepts by introducing them to case studies of real research projects.
Accessibility statement for Sage Research Methods Cases - Sage Research Methods Video
Contains over 125 hours of video, including tutorials, case study videos, interviews with expert researchers, and more, covering every step of the research process.
Accessibility statement for Sage Research Methods Video
Can't find the paper you need?
Order an InterLibrary Loan
Recommend a book
Find at another library