Library guides: Food Policy and Nutrition: News and current affairs

Current news databases

Use Nexis UK and Factiva to search for international, national and regional news, and access the full text of those newspapers which are normally restricted by paywalls, such as The Times (London) and the New York Times.

These databases are updated daily. They provide you with the full-text of the article, but no accompanying images, graphics or charts.

Nexis UK
Full-text coverage of national, regional and international news from a range of sources including newswires. Updated daily and with many titles having a 20 year archive, useful for current affairs and seeing how topics have been reported.
Articles generally have no formatting or images.
Limitation
- Users may print and download for personal use only single copies of up to ten documents in Full Text Format from the results of one search.
- Users are prohibited from downloading substantial parts of the database and materials cannot be stored for longer than 90 days.
- Nexis cannot be used for any non-academic purposes and text data mining is not permitted.
- The right to retrieve and store machine-readable copies of Materials is limited to the retrieval of a single copy of a reasonable portion of the Materials included in any individual file of the Online Services using the downloading commands of the Online Services or your web browser software and storage of that copy in machine readable form for no more than 90 days, primarily for one person’s exclusive use, to the extent the storage of those Materials is not further limited or prohibited by the Additional Terms.
- For further information please see Library Services’ Online Resource Policy.
Factiva
Offers full text from a range of sources including international newspapers, trade publications and magazines. Many titles have a 20 year archive and content is updated daily, making it useful for business, industry news and reports.
Please note that articles generally have no formatting or images.
Limitation
- The length of time to store a single copy of downloaded materials from this resource in machine readable form is limited to 30 days only.
- Text data mining is not permitted within our Factiva UK licence.

The FT and The Economist

Economist.com
British weekly magazine of news and opinion, covering world politics, economics, business finance, science and technology. Full-text available from June 1997 to present.
The Economist Online also offers a variety of web-only content, including blogs, debates and audio/video programmes. Access is sponsored by The Worshipful Company of International Bankers.

To access the FT.com you must register for a Financial Times account first.

FT.com
Gives access to the daily news focusing on international business and economics.
FT.com also provides access to company and market data as well as the FT ePaper which is the digital replica of the Financial Times printed newspaper from different countries including UK, Asia and USA.
Registration required - To sign up for a FT account, please see How to register/re-register for a FT account. Further details are available by emailing businesslibrary@city.ac.uk.
App available.

Off-air recording

Box of Broadcasts (BoB)
View, record, create clips and share broadcast programmes from over 75 TV and radio channels. Only available to view in the UK. For educational use only.
Limitation - Full service available only to users located in the UK. BBC Parliament is temporarily available to users located anywhere in the world.