Library guides: Food Policy and Nutrition: Policy, Market Research, Company & Industry information

Policy, Market Research and Company and Industry information

FAOLEX database
FAOLEX is a comprehensive and up-to-date legislative and policy database, one of the world's largest online repositories of national laws, regulations and policies on food, agriculture and natural resources management.
FAPDA policy database
The FAPDA policy database is a global and comprehensive database which contains over 18 000 national policy decisions and 3 000 national policy frameworks for over 150 countries around the world.
The database makes available original policy documents and offers a brief description of the policy objectives and more in-depth information.
Food Foundation Policy Hub
Includes MP briefings, policy briefings, responses to Government consultations, letters to Ministers, submissions to Parliamentary inquiries, and relevant reports.
Global Database for City and Regional Food Policies
The Global Database for City and Regional Food Policies is a resource for local and sub-national governments to learn about food system policies from around the globe.
Global database on the Implementation of Nutrition Action (GINA)
The Global database on the Implementation of Nutrition Action (GINA) is an interactive platform for sharing standardized information on nutrition policies and actions, i.e. what are the commitments made and who is doing what, where, when, why and how (including lessons learnt).
Healthy Food Policy Project: Policy Database
A curated, searchable database of healthy food policies at the local level around the United States, analyzed by HFPP.
NOURISHING and MOVING policy databases
Developed as part of the European Union CO-CREATE project, Confronting obesity: co-creating policy with youth, the databases contain information about nutrition and physical activity policy that governments around the world have implemented to encourage people to eat healthily and move more.

WCRF International’s NOURISHING database has been redesigned as part of the CO-CREATE project. The MOVING database of physical policy actions has been developed to complement the NOURISHING database and contains information about policies designed to promote physical activity. The policy actions are categorised and organised around our NOURISHING and MOVING policy frameworks.

Overton
Database that collects citations from various types of documents, including policy papers, parliamentary transcripts, government guidelines, and research from think-tanks.
It contains documents from over 27,000 organisations in more than 180 countries, with new documents added weekly. Overton indexes, categorises and analyses the documents to extract key terms and topics.
Registration is required. Please use your City email to sign up before using this resource.

Euromonitor Passport
Industry trends, strategic analysis, market size and market share data across key countries and industries. Includes demographic and economic data and packaging information.
Registration instructions: Business School students should register for an account via Business Library Moodle 2024-2025. Non-Business School students and staff should email businesslibrary@city.ac.uk for registration instructions.
User guide

MarketLine Advantage
International market research. Offers a comprehensive mix of company, industry, country and financial data for every major marketplace in the world.

Mintel
UK Market research reports with a rolling two years' data. The focus is on consumer markets including a specialist coverage of the financial sector.
Mintel Market Sizes
Market size, market share, market forecasts and segmentation data. Global coverage of several industries including: automotive, clothing, energy, finance, media, pharmaceuticals and many more.
Limitation: Users may download or print from Mintel Market Sizes no more than 55 datasets per session. Users may include a combination of no more than five each of the following: (a) up to twenty-five percent of a single Snapshots report and (b) a dataset, in a dissertation or thesis.

Business Source Ultimate
Journal articles, case studies, company profiles, industry reports, SWOT analyses. Covers business and economics, with full text access to the Harvard Business Review.
Factiva
Offers full text from a range of sources including international newspapers, trade publications and magazines. Many titles have a 20 year archive and content is updated daily, making it useful for business, industry news and reports.
Please note that articles generally have no formatting or images.
Limitation
- The length of time to store a single copy of downloaded materials from this resource in machine readable form is limited to 30 days only.
- Text data mining is not permitted within our Factiva UK licence.
IBISWorld
UK, US, China and Global-level research reports for over 400 industries.
Limitation: Please note there is a download limit of 25 reports per session. Specialized Industry Reports are not available as part of our subscription.
User Guides available in Business Library Moodle 2024-2025. Non-Business School students and staff should email businesslibrary@city.ac.uk.
Nexis UK
Full-text coverage of national, regional and international news from a range of sources including newswires. Updated daily and with many titles having a 20 year archive, useful for current affairs and seeing how topics have been reported.
Articles generally have no formatting or images.
Limitation
- Users may print and download for personal use only single copies of up to ten documents in Full Text Format from the results of one search.
- Users are prohibited from downloading substantial parts of the database and materials cannot be stored for longer than 90 days.
- Nexis cannot be used for any non-academic purposes and text data mining is not permitted.
- The right to retrieve and store machine-readable copies of Materials is limited to the retrieval of a single copy of a reasonable portion of the Materials included in any individual file of the Online Services using the downloading commands of the Online Services or your web browser software and storage of that copy in machine readable form for no more than 90 days, primarily for one person’s exclusive use, to the extent the storage of those Materials is not further limited or prohibited by the Additional Terms.
- For further information please see Library Services’ Online Resource Policy.

CityLibrary Search

Food Policy and Nutrition

Policy, Market Research and Company and Industry information

Help guides: