The following organisations are good sources of information, providing access to grey literature such as bulletins, blogs and newsletters.
| Name | Coverage |
|---|---|
| Department for Environment Food & Rural Affairs (DEFRA) | Includes information aimed at UK food and drink manufacturing industries about improving competitiveness and information on food regulations applied to various food groups. Also provides information on water quality and drinking water. DEFRA statistics are also available free of charge. |
| Food Standards Agency | The Food Standards Agency (FSA) is the independent government department working to protect public health and consumers’ wider interests in relation to food in England, Wales and Northern Ireland. |
| The Parliamentary Office of Science and Technology (POST): Food Security | Research from UK Parliament. |
| Scientific Advisory Committee on Nutrition (SACN) | Guidance issued by SACN to the UK Government and Public Health England on various nutrition-related topics. |
| Name | Coverage |
|---|---|
| Codex Alimentarius: International Food Standards | A collection of standards, guidelines and codes of practice adopted by the Codex Alimentarius Commission. |
| FAO: Food and Agricultural Organisation of the United Nations | The Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) is a specialized agency of the United Nations that leads international efforts to defeat hunger. |
| FAO: Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations: Nutrition | A section of the FAO website covering nutrition and food composition. |
| IFAD: International Fund for Agricultural Development | IFAD is an international financial institution and specialized United Nations agency. |
| World Food Programme | The World Food Programme is the food-assistance branch of the United Nations. It is the world's largest humanitarian organization, the largest one focused on hunger and food security, and the largest provider of school meals. |
| World Health Organization: Food Safety | Information from WHO on food safety. |
| World Health Organisation: Nutrition | Information from WHO relating to nutrition. |
| Name | Coverage |
|---|---|
| Food Research Collaboration | Brings together academics, civil society groups and sustainable food businesses to share the knowledge needed to help steer the UK towards a more sustainable food system. |
| Future of Food | The Oxford Martin Programme on the Future of Food is an interdisciplinary programme of research and policy engagement concerning all aspects of the food system, based at the University of Oxford |
| Imperial College London: Centre for Translational Nutrition and Food Research | The Centre brings together world leading research teams across Imperial College’s Faculties. |
| SOAS Food Studies Centre | The SOAS Food Studies Centre is an interdisciplinary centre dedicated to the study of the political, economic, and cultural dimensions of food, historically and in the contemporary moment, from production, to exchange, to preparation, to consumption. |
| Name | Coverage |
|---|---|
| Food for Life | Food for Life brings schools, nurseries, hospitals and care homes, and their surrounding communities together around the core ethos of healthy, tasty and sustainable food. |
| Food Foundation | A registered charity working in partnership with researchers, campaigners, community bodies, industry, Government and citizens to galvanise the UK’s diverse agents of change. |
| The Nutrition Society | The society is a registered charity, dedicated to delivering its mission of advancing the scientific study of nutrition and its application to the maintenance of human and animal health. |
| Soil Association | A leading voice in the sustainable food movement, advocating for a visionary future for UK farming. |
| Sustainable Food Trust | The Sustainable Food Trust is a registered charity founded in 2011 in response to the worsening human and environmental crises that are associated with the vast majority of today’s food and farming systems. |
| Name | Coverage |
|---|---|
| Bioversity International | The Alliance of Bioversity International and CIAT delivers research-based solutions that harness agricultural biodiversity and sustainably transform food systems to improve people’s lives in a climate crisis. |
| British Association for Nutrition and Lifestyle Medicine | BANT acts as a professional body for Registered Nutritional Therapy Practitioners in one-to-one clinical practice and as a self-regulator for BANT Registered Nutritionists. |
| British Association of Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition (BAPEN): | BAPEN aims to increase awareness of malnutrition and advance nutritional care of patients in both hospital and community settings. |
| British Nutrition Foundation |
Provides evidence-based information on food and nutrition, focusing on nutritional science awareness at all levels. |
| Camden BRI | A leader in global food and drink science and research. |
| Center for Food Safety | Center for Food Safety's mission is to empower people, support farmers, and protect the earth from the harmful impacts of industrial agriculture. |
| EIT Food | Supported by the EU, food innovation community which creates connections right across the food system that stimulate new ideas and inventions to drive change. |
| Food and Drink Federation | The voice of the UK food and drink industry. |
| Food First | The Institute for Food and Development Policy, better known as Food First, works to end the injustices that cause hunger through research, education and action. |
| Foodtank | A Food Think Tank founded in 2013 to reform the food system. Its goal is to highlight environmentally, socially, and economically sustainable ways of alleviating hunger, obesity, and poverty. |
| IATP: Institute for Agriculture and Trade Policy | IATP works locally and globally at the intersection of policy and practice to ensure fair and sustainable food, farm and trade systems. |
| IFPRI: International Food Policy Research Institute | The International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI) provides research-based policy solutions to sustainably reduce poverty and end hunger and malnutrition in developing countries. |
| ifst: Institute of Food Science & Technology | UK’s leading professional body for those involved in all aspects of food science and technology. |
| Quadram Institute | Research areas include how food innovation can improve health. |
| School Nutrition Association | Recognized as the authority on school nutrition. |