Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Services

  1. Library Services Home
  2. Resources
  3. Support
  4. About
  5. My Library

ProQuest RefWorks Guide

Cite Them Right Online

Cite Them Right Online

Cite Them Right  is a comprehensive guide to referencing almost anything you will come across in the course of your studies or research. It includes guides for a number of different referencing styles. It will help you to reference books, journals, articles, web sites and other material, and understand how to avoid plagiarism. You can also find answers to common questions about referencing, as well as helpful guidance to keep you on the right track.

There are also print copies available in our Libraries at shelf number 808.027 PEA 

Here's a short video introducing Cite Them Right Online.

Key points for citing & referencing

It is important to cite and reference your sources in any work you produce. Referencing is a way of acknowledging that you have used the ideas and written material belonging to another author. It demonstrates that you have undertaken an appropriate literature search and that you have carried out appropriate reading. It enables anyone reading your work to look up your citations and read them for themselves.

  • Check for more advice and tips about citing and referencing on Cite Them Right Online. Cite Them Right Online has useful examples for referencing eg. Kindle books, government publications, journals
  • You should also check any advice your Department has about about Citing and Referencing that is included in your student handbook.

Avoiding plagiarism

Plagiarism is using the words, work or ideas of others and passing them off as your own. Plagiarism is not only something that is taken seriously at University, but also in the world of work.

You will find information about plagiarism  and how to avoid it at University in  Cite Them Right Online  but importantly it will help  you to develop the knowledge and skills to take into your career.

When undertaking a large piece of work such as a thesis, you need to keep very clear records of your research and you may find it helpful to use a reference management tool such as RefWorks to manage your references, cite them in texts and create bibliographies.

RefWorks can assist with citing in the text and in bibliographies but please check your references for accuracy very carefully.

Some other reference management tools

 

You may obtain help from the providers' websites for these.

EndNote

EndNote TM

EndNote is a reference management software that allows you to collect, store and manage bibliographic references. You can then include them in your academic writing and automatically create a bibliography in the referencing style of your choice.

The University has some EndNote Desktop licences, academic staff wishing to have it installed on their computer should contact IT Services.

There is a free web version of EndNote called EndNote Basic, which you can access at:  http://endnote.com/product-details/basic

See the Clarivate Analytics Endnore training web page.

Mendeley

Reference Manager. Resource Discovery. Academic Profiles. Networking. Impact.

 
Mendeley
  is a free tool enabling you to capture, organise, annotate, store and share your references. You can download a desktop version, including a plug in for Word to enable you to create citations and bibliographies. You can also access the online version, and synchronise your accounts so that you can easily access your chosen papers at any point. Versions are also available for iphone/ipad

The desk top version enables you to easily upload any pdfs you may have already downloaded into your files.

The online interface enables you to connect with like minded researchers, to join and form groups and networks and to discover and share papers. You can develop and display your academic profile to include your papers, CV etc. You can see how many times your papers have been read, and view and discussions generated by your research. You can choose to embed this profile in other websites e.g. on your blog.

Zotero

 
Zotero
 is a free reference management software. It allows you to:

  • Collect bibliographic information (extracts metadata) on books, journal articles, videos and other resources from library resources, databases, andf ree sites..
  • Collect PDFs, file, images for each citation/reference in your library.
  • Create a bibliography and in-text citations in a variety of reference styles in a Word or OpenOffice document.
  • Sync among computers and the cloud.
  • Create Groups to share citations, collection, notes and tags with colleagues.