Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Services

  1. Library Services Home
  2. Resources
  3. Support
  4. About
  5. My Library

ProQuest RefWorks Guide

Please be very careful to check any bibliographies created by RefWorks.

If there is any problem with the data quality of the references, errors can appear.

RefWorks and its workflow tools are there to assist you but please double check all output.

Bibliographies

In RefWorks you can create a bibliography from a list of references, without creating a document. This reference list may contain your entire database or selected references.

Create a bibliography by clicking on the  " symbol to generate a reference list in your desired style, using all the references in a particular folder. You can use this to preview your finished list of references, or simply generate a list to copy and paste into your document. If you use Harvard, we recommend the Cite Them Right - Harvard style.

Creating a bibliography

Cite in Microsoft Word

This works with Word and earlier versions and also allows you to cite references and create bibliographies in texts.

You can download it onto Word on your computer from the ProQuest RefWorks tools menu. To have it installed on a university machine, you need assistance from IT Services.

Adding references to your assignments

  • In Word, click RefWorks or  Proquest in the menu. This will  ask you to sign in and open up RefWorks .Open the document you wish to work on.
  • Put your cursor where you want a citation to appear in your text and click on Insert citation, in the RefWorks window click  next to the reference you want.
  • When you are ready to add a bibliography to the end of the document, click on Insert Bibliography to create a bibliography and format your in-text citations according to the output style you want.

Please note: There are different versions of the plug in so they may work slightly differently depending on which version you are using. Sometimes there is a ReWorks tab in Word from  where you can login to RefWorks. For troubleshooting issues see Refworks guidance or contact RefWorks Support.