Financial information includes figures released by companies as well as trading data from different asset classes.
Company information does include some of these figures, for example recent stock prices of a publicly listed company. However, its focus is on characteristics of companies, their activities, boards and executives.
The Business Library provides access to a wide range of financial data and company information for both public and private companies. It's accessible across a range of platforms on site or from your own computer.
Click on 'more...' below each database for full access details.
Profit and loss, balance sheet, ratios and trends, stock prices, credit score and rating information for major public and private British companies.
Accessibility statement for Fame
Lists of companies can be created using any combination of 300 search items.
Limitation: Please note that Moody's resources may be used for educational research only, and may not be used for institutional business purposes.
Comprehensive financial data, analytics, and insights for global markets, including real-time news, pricing, and specialist research tools. Includes data from Worldscope, I/B/E/S, Lipper and Asset 4.
Accessibility statement for Eikon(LSEG)
Use the Excel Add-in to download data and access Datastream.
Available on campus from dedicated terminals and available remotely.
5 bookable PCs in the Financial Resources Zone, Business Library
8 bookable PCs in the Refinitiv Trading Room, Bunhill Row
3 bookable PCs in the Financial Resources Suite, Northampton Square Library.
Logins: A limited number of Eikon usernames are available for off-site access. These will be issued on a first come, first served basis Monday to Friday 09:00- 17:00 UK time and will expire at 08:00 UK time the following day, if issued on a Friday the username will expire at 08:00 UK time Monday. Complete our online form to request a username and password. Alternatively, email businesslibrary@city.ac.uk.
Global financial markets database providing news, analytics, real time pricing for millions of securities world-wide plus extensive historical pricing and stock charts.
Accessibility statement for Bloomberg
Available on campus only from dedicated terminals:
• 7 bookable terminals in the Financial Resources Zone, Business Library
• 10 non-bookable terminals in the Bloomberg Finance Lab, Bunhill Row
• 10 bookable terminals in the Financial Resources Suite, Northampton Square
Library
Registration instructions: To use Bloomberg, you must create a Bloomberg account.
Certifications: To take Bloomberg Certification in Finance Fundamentals, Market Concept or Environmental Social Governance, see Signing up for Bloomberg for Education.
See our Bloomberg LibGuide for more information.
Use our 'business databases by topic' guide to find out which databases contain the type of information you need.
Some of our databases, such as Bloomberg, are only available on specific bookable PCs in the following locations:
Business School, Bunhill Row:
Northampton Square:
While most databases can be accessed with your City login details, special login details are required for some databases. Business students can access these on Business Library Moodle 2024-2025. All other students, please email businesslibrary@city.ac.uk.
See our financial resources on site page for login information for our on-site databases.
Check privacy policies before submitting personal data when using online resources. Find out more on our Personal Data and Online Resources Page
Support for Financial Databases on site can often be found on the desktop or in the database instructions next to the terminal. Bloomberg and Eikon run certification training (see below).
Training on these databases is held periodically during term and can be booked on the Library Training and Workshops calendar. Training sessions focuses on specific areas for particular student groups, as laid out in the description. Training on the Library Training and Workshops calendar is open to all City students.
Bloomberg Certification is run through a module called Bloomberg Market Concepts. It consists of four modules, is self-paced and free when taken on a Bloomberg terminal. To begin, login to a Bloomberg terminal type BMC and press <GO>. Alternatively, BMC can be taken on your own computer. Bloomberg estimates it takes eight hours to complete. You can stop at any point and pick up where you left off. See Signing up for Bloomberg Market Concepts.
Eikon certification and training takes place online. To get started, visit the LSEG training site and select Eikon.