Library Guides: Financial and company information: ESG (environmental, social and governance)

ESG (environmental, social, and governance)

Environmental, Social and Corporate Governance (ESG) data measures the ethical impact of investing in a company based on its social impact, corporate governance internally and Responsible Investment (RI).

While companies are not required to report directly on elements of ESG data, some ESG measures can be extracted based on other financial data. Databases like Bloomberg and Eikon are able to provide further information through proprietary relationships.

Environmental Social Governance databases

Bloomberg
A global financial markets database providing news, analytics, real time pricing for millions of securities world-wide plus extensive historical pricing and stock charts.
Accessibility information for Bloomberg
Available on:

• 7 bookable terminals in the Financial Resources Zone, Business Library
• 10 non-bookable terminals in the Bloomberg Finance Lab, Bunhill Row
• 10 bookable terminals in the Financial Resources Suite, Northampton Square
Library

You can book a terminal in advance.

To take Bloomberg Certification in Market Concept or Environmental Social Governance, see Signing up for Bloomberg for Education.

Use the Financial Analysis function FA <GO> to see ESG data for Equities.

Eikon (Refinitiv)
Eikon contains news, analytics and financial content. It also includes a range of prices for multiple assets, fundamentals, estimates and charts. Includes data from Worldscope, I/B/E/S, Lipper and Asset 4. Use the Excel Add-In to download data and access Datastream.

Limitation - A limited number of Eikon usernames are available for off-site access and are issued Monday to Friday 09:00- 17:00 UK time.
Accessibility information for Eikon(Refinitiv)
Available on 5 bookable PCs in the Financial Resources Zone, Business Library, 8 bookable PCs in the Refinitiv Trading Room (Business School) and 3 bookable PCs in the Financial Resources Suite, Northampton Square Library. A limited number of Eikon usernames are available for off-site access. These will be issued on a first come, first served basis (Monday to Friday 09:00- 17:00 UK time) and will expire at 08:00 UK time the following day, if issued on a Friday the username will expire at 08:00 UK time Monday. Complete our request form to request a username and password. Alternatively, email businesslibrary@city.ac.uk.

ESG data is gathered by analysts at Refinitiv and made available for publicly listed companies. More information on finding ESG data in Eikon can be found through the Refinitiv online learning platform.

BoardEx
BoardEx contains information about public company board members, directors and senior management for companies world wide.
Accessibility information for BoardEx
Username and password available to City staff and students by emailing the Business Library.
Audit Analytics: Audit and Compliance
WRDS dataset listed under Audit Analytics. Audit Analytics: Audit and Compliance provides detailed research on over 150,000 active audits and more than 10,000 accounting firms. Includes detailed categorisations of issues to enable tracking and analysis of public company disclosures.
Accessibility information for Audit Analytics: Audit and Compliance
To access WRDS datasets, click 'Register' on the WRDS homepage. Register using your City email address. Under 'Affiliation Type', postgraduate and undergraduate students should select 'Masters/Undergrad'.

You will receive an email within two working days asking you to agree to the Terms & Conditions. Once you have replied, your account will be approved and when you login to WRDS, you will have to sign up to their 2 Factor Authentication system.

 As part of the registration process, Duo collects WRDS usernames, phone numbers, and email addresses in order to verify information during login.  Duo (owned by Cisco) retains anonymized information post login for statistical and performance purposes. Duo privacy policies can be found here. 
Audit Analytics: Corporate and Legal
WRDS dataset listed under Audit Analytics. Audit Analytics: Corporate and Legal provides data on actions, disclosures and correspondence by companies, advisors, regulators and investors. Databases cover SEC Comment Letters, Litigation, Bankruptcy and Shareholder Activism.
Accessibility information for Audit Analytics: Corporate and Legal
To access WRDS datasets, click 'Register' on the WRDS homepage. Register using your City email address. Under 'User type', postgraduate and undergraduate students should select 'Masters/Undergrad.'

You will receive an email within two working days asking you to agree to the Terms & Conditions. Once you have replied, your account will be approved and when you login to WRDS, you will have to sign up to their 2 Factor Authentication system.

As part of the registration process, Duo collects WRDS usernames, phone numbers, and email addresses in order to verify information during login.  Duo (owned by Cisco) retains anonymized information post login for statistical and performance purposes. Duo privacy policies can be found here.