Library Guides: Financial and company information: Investments, private equity and venture capital

Investments, private equity, and venture capital data

Investment, Private Equity and Venture Capital data are more closely guarded than other types of financial data.

Often datasets may contain holes where the data simply was not reported, which can make it a bit of a challenge to get a solid dataset. Eikon provides this data reliably through its software and the Excel Add-in. If some data is not provided try one of the more specialist databases to fill the gaps.

Investments, private equity and venture capital databases

Morningstar Direct
Morningstar Direct is an investment analysis platform. It provides access to 350,000 investments in indexes, equities, hedge funds, segregated accounts, open-end funds, closed-end funds, insurance/pension/life and exchange traded funds.

Limitation - Select the 'Sign in' option. Do not select 'Sign in with SSO'.
If the account gets locked, it will automatically unlock after 30 minutes.
Accessibility information for Morningstar Direct
Available on 4 bookable PCs in the Financial Resources Zone, Business Library and and 10 bookable PCs in the Financial Resources Suite, Northampton Square Library. Also available on 9 non-bookable PCs in the Business Library Study Room. Available to access off site. Students and staff should complete this request form or email businesslibrary@city.ac.uk for the Morningstar login details which are updated every Monday. Remote access instructions are also available by emailing businesslibrary@city.ac.uk.
Eikon (Refinitiv)
Eikon contains news, analytics and financial content. It also includes a range of prices for multiple assets, fundamentals, estimates and charts. Includes data from Worldscope, I/B/E/S, Lipper and Asset 4. Use the Excel Add-In to download data and access Datastream.

Limitation - A limited number of Eikon usernames are available for off-site access and are issued Monday to Friday 09:00- 17:00 UK time.
Accessibility information for Eikon(Refinitiv)
Available on 5 bookable PCs in the Financial Resources Zone, Business Library, 8 bookable PCs in the Refinitiv Trading Room (Business School) and 3 bookable PCs in the Financial Resources Suite, Northampton Square Library. A limited number of Eikon usernames are available for off-site access. These will be issued on a first come, first served basis (Monday to Friday 09:00- 17:00 UK time) and will expire at 08:00 UK time the following day, if issued on a Friday the username will expire at 08:00 UK time Monday. Complete our request form to request a username and password. Alternatively, email businesslibrary@city.ac.uk.
Orbis M & A
Information and analysis on global mergers & acquisitions, containing M&A, IPO, private equity, and venture capital deals, company information and financial data. Includes information on rumours as well as announced and completed deals.
Accessibility information for Orbis M & A
Real Deals
Real Deals is an European private equity database. It provides facts and figures for European venture capital and private equity and also contains news, deals and analysis.
Accessibility information for Real Deals
Available on campus only from a bookable, dedicated computer in the Financial Resources Zone, Business Library. Ask Library staff to log you into Real Deals.
CB Insights
Is a global private company database that covers daily real-time information about venture capital, angel investor-backed private start-ups. It also contains M&A and IPO news, private equity and industry analysis. Please note that there is a limit of 4000 profile views and 4000 downloads per user per year.

Limitation - Students and staff should email the Business Library to request instructions for creating an account. Your City email address is only used for log-in, CB Information Services do not use this information for any other purpose.
Expert Intelligence reports are not available as part of our subscription.
Accessibility information for CB insights
Bloomberg
A global financial markets database providing news, analytics, real time pricing for millions of securities world-wide plus extensive historical pricing and stock charts.
Accessibility information for Bloomberg
Available on:

• 7 bookable terminals in the Financial Resources Zone, Business Library
• 10 non-bookable terminals in the Bloomberg Finance Lab, Bunhill Row
• 10 bookable terminals in the Financial Resources Suite, Northampton Square
Library

You can book a terminal in advance.

To take Bloomberg Certification in Market Concept or Environmental Social Governance, see Signing up for Bloomberg for Education.
BankFocus
Worldwide coverage of banks. It provides detailed information covering at least 5 years’ history for listed banks and at least 3 years’ for unlisted, with ‘as reported’ financial items available both in English and local languages using local GAAP and IFRS formats whenever available. BankFocus includes original filings, corporate structures, the facility to represent data graphically.
Accessibility information for BankFocus
Please note that Moody's resources may be used for educational research only, and may not be used for institutional business purposes.