Library Guides: Financial and company information: Banking

Banking information

Banks and their data are integral to the world economy. Unlike other industries, trust in financial institutions has far-reaching effects on all sorts of economies, politics and societies. It's for this reason that the stability of banks is closely monitored through analysis, rankings and credit ratings.

Much of this data can be accessed on-site but other databases provide these data from the web.

Databases for banking

S&P Capital IQ Pro
S&P Capital IQ Pro provides detailed and standardised financial data on financial institutions in the US, Europe and MEA.
Limitation Does not work with Firefox broswer.
Accessibility information for S&P Capital IQ Pro

You have to be connected to the university network to register for and access this database. Business School students should register for an account via Business Library Moodle 2023-2024 module. Non-Business School students and staff should email businesslibrary@city.ac.uk for registration details.
Bloomberg
A global financial markets database providing news, analytics, real time pricing for millions of securities world-wide plus extensive historical pricing and stock charts.
Accessibility information for Bloomberg
Available on:

• 7 bookable terminals in the Financial Resources Zone, Business Library
• 10 non-bookable terminals in the Bloomberg Finance Lab, Bunhill Row
• 10 bookable terminals in the Financial Resources Suite, Northampton Square
Library

You can book a terminal in advance.

To take Bloomberg Certification in Market Concept or Environmental Social Governance, see Signing up for Bloomberg for Education.
BankFocus
Worldwide coverage of banks. It provides detailed information covering at least 5 years’ history for listed banks and at least 3 years’ for unlisted, with ‘as reported’ financial items available both in English and local languages using local GAAP and IFRS formats whenever available. BankFocus includes original filings, corporate structures, the facility to represent data graphically.
Accessibility information for BankFocus
Please note that Moody's resources may be used for educational research only, and may not be used for institutional business purposes.
Eikon (Refinitiv)
Eikon contains news, analytics and financial content. It also includes a range of prices for multiple assets, fundamentals, estimates and charts. Includes data from Worldscope, I/B/E/S, Lipper and Asset 4. Use the Excel Add-In to download data and access Datastream.

Limitation - A limited number of Eikon usernames are available for off-site access and are issued Monday to Friday 09:00- 17:00 UK time.
Accessibility information for Eikon(Refinitiv)
Available on 5 bookable PCs in the Financial Resources Zone, Business Library, 8 bookable PCs in the Refinitiv Trading Room (Business School) and 3 bookable PCs in the Financial Resources Suite, Northampton Square Library. A limited number of Eikon usernames are available for off-site access. These will be issued on a first come, first served basis (Monday to Friday 09:00- 17:00 UK time) and will expire at 08:00 UK time the following day, if issued on a Friday the username will expire at 08:00 UK time Monday. Complete our request form to request a username and password. Alternatively, email businesslibrary@city.ac.uk.
Datastream via Eikon
Access using the Excel Add-In for Eikon. International financial time series data enabling you to explore relationships and trends, perform correlations, and generate and test investment and trading ideas. Covers equities, indices, bonds, futures, funds, interest rates, commodities, currencies and economic data. Also available: “Datastream via WRDS”.

Limitation - A limited number of Eikon usernames are available for off-site access and are issued Monday to Friday 09:00- 17:00 UK time.
Accessibility information for Datastream via Eikon
Available on 5 bookable PCs in the Financial Resources Zone, Business Library, on 8 bookable PCs in the Refinitiv Trading Room (Business School) and 3 bookable PCs in the Financial Resources Suite Northampton Square Library. A limited number of Eikon usernames are available for off-site access. These will be issued on a first come, first served basis (Monday to Friday 09:00- 17:00 UK time) and will expire at 08:00 UK time the following day, if issued on a Friday the username will expire at 08:00 UK time Monday. Complete our request form to request a username and password. Alternatively, email businesslibrary@city.ac.uk.