Assets in LibGuides
What are assets?
Assets are types of reusable content which can be stored and used across LibGuides. The advantages of using / reusing assets? If the description or URL of the assets needs updating, it only has to be done once and the changes will be applied to wherever the asset is used. You can access statistics on engagement with the assets.
Types of asset
Types of asset include:
- Database links: links from the Databases A-Z, you can build them into a list.
- Link lists: add links, you can build them into a list.
- Documents: will link to a document uploaded to LibGuides. We would only upload documents where the information cannot be presented as web content. The document would need to meet all the accessibility criteria. Speak to Antonella Yarnold or Jessica Wykes before uploading any PDFs or Word documents to LibGuides.
- Books from the catalogue: Link to individual titles within Summon. You can build them into a list.
Databases
This is an example of a list of database links. If you cannot find a database by searching the A-Z list try searching the first few letters and check if it appears in the list. If a database is missing from the A-Z list, please speak to the E-access Team.
- PressReader
Provides digital access to thousands of newspapers and magazines from around the world. You can browse entire editions making it useful for studying page layout etc.
- Web of Science
Multidisciplinary resource which enables simultaneous cross-searching of a range of citation indexes and databases. It provides access to research tools like cited reference searching and the Journal Citation Reports.
Links
Use the links asset to add links in a list. The benefits of adding links in this way are, consistency, you can get statistics on number of times the link is opened, you can use the broken link checker with link assets but not links in body text.
Always go to the second tab first: Reuse existing link asset. You must check here that the link you need is not already added to the system, This will help avoid clutter, duplication and version control.
This is an example of a list of link assets.
- British LibraryGet a British Library Reader Pass and access the reading rooms in St Pancras.
Book from the catalogue
Decolonisation in universities: the politics of knowledge by ISBN: 9781776143368Publication Date: 2019
Reusing assets
Reuse assets whenever possible. This keeps the libguide system uncluttered, keeps content consistent and avoids confusion with multiple versions or duplicates.
When adding a new link, document, widget or book, always go to the reuse content tab and search for the item you need before you add a new version.
Cite Them RightThis is the online version of a popular referencing and citation book. Use it for quick explanations of what to do, and tools to help you construct your references.
